• You Tube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Understanding NHS Jargon

Homepage » About us » Understanding NHS Jargon


Glossary of Terms - Select Here| for a handy PDF version of this page

Terms to describe the way the NHS works…

STP - 
Sustainability and Transformation Partnership - created to encourage health and  care organisations to work more closely together to improve outcomes and care for local people, reduce pressures on services and make best use of our financial resources.

Cumbria sits across two STP areas – West North and East Cumbria Health and Care Partnership in the north and in the south in Healthier Lancashire and South Cumbria.

horthand for West, North and East Cumbria

 Local Delivery Plan is an agreement between the organisations in a local area and the regional STP

ICC -  A community where everyone works together to provide joined up health and care services and improves health and wellbeing. An integrated care community means:

  • Health and care agencies joined up and working better
  • Improving health and wellbeing of your community
  • Helping you to look after yourself
  • Keeping you out of hospital unless you really need to be there

ACO/ACS - Accountable Care Organisation / System – where different organisations are working together as one to improve the health of the area.

Clinical and NHS terms...

A&E (ED):  Accident & Emergency (Emergency Department)

CCG:  Clinical Commissioning Group

CDI:  Clostridium Difficile Infection

CHOC:  Cumbria Health on Call

CIC:  Cumberland Infirmary, Carlisle

CPFT:  Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

CQC:  Care Quality Commission

DTOC:  Delayed Transfers of Care

Elective:  Planned admission (for procedure or treatment)

FFT:  Friends and Family Test

FGH:  Furness General Hospital

HFC:  Harm Free Care

HSCIC:    Health and Social Care Information Centre

IPC:    Infection Prevention and Control

IWGC:  I Want Great Care

LDP:  Local Delivery Plan

LTC:  Long term condition

MDT:   Multi-disciplinary team - a team made up of different healthcare professionals

MRSA:    Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus Aureus

MSSA:  Methicillin Sensitive Staphylococcus Aureus

MSK:   Musculoskeletal

NCUHT:    North Cumbria Hospitals NHS Trust

NECS:  North of England Commissioning Support Unit

NHSE:  NHS England

NHSI:  NHS Improvement

NOF:  Broken hip (neck of femur)

Non-elective:  An emergency admission

NWAS:  North West Ambulance Service

Primary Care:  The first level of care – GPs, dentists, opticians, pharmacists

QRG:  Quality Review Group

RLI:  Royal Lancaster Infirmary

SI/ SUI/ SIRI:  Serious (Untoward) Incident (Requiring Investigation)

StEIS:  Strategic Executive Information System

STP:  Sustainable Transformation Partnership

UHMBT:  University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust

WCH:  West Cumberland Hospital

WGH:  Westmorland General Hospital

YTD:  Year to Date (from April)

Bookmark and Share

© Copyright NHS Cumbria CCG 2020. All rights reserved.