• You Tube
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

What is a Clinical Commissioning Group?

Homepage » FAQs » What is a Clinical Commissioning Group?
What is a Clinical Commissioning Group?

Clinical Commissioning Groups are groups of GPs that are responsible for designing local health services In England. They do this by commissioning or buying health and care services including:

  • Elective hospital care
  • Rehabilitation care
  • Urgent and emergency care
  • Most community health services
  • Mental health and learning disability services

Clinical Commissioning Groups work with patients and healthcare professionals and in partnership with local communities and local authorities to develop health services that meet the needs of their communities.

All GP practices to belong to a Clinical Commissioning Group.

On their governing body, CCGs have, in addition to GPs, a least one registered nurse and a doctor who is a secondary care specialist.

NHS Cumbria Clinical Commissioning Group was established in shadow form in 2011/12 to allow GPs to prepare to take over the commissioning role from NHS Cumbria, Cumbria’s primary care trust. NHS Cumbria CCG then became a statutory organisation in April 2013.

Cumbria is split into six localities – Allerdale, Barrow, Carlisle, Copeland, Eden and South Lakeland. NHS Cumbria Clinical Commissioning Group has elected a local family doctor from each part of the county to work with hospital doctors, nurses, patients and the wider public to plan how health services should be designed and funded in their area. GPs are also elected to each locality board to provide clinical leadership in key areas.

GPs are now the guardians of their patients’ care, from home to hospital and back again.

Bookmark and Share

© Copyright NHS Cumbria CCG 2020. All rights reserved.